Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 6B Superior North


Welcome to the OSSTF District 6B - Superior North website. 

OSSTF District 6B is composed of two Bargaining Units: the Education Support Staff Bargaining Unit (ESS BU) representing all support staff personnel (except custodians) in the employ of the Superior-Greenstone District School Board (SGDSB), and the Teacher/Occasional Teacher Bargaining Unit (T/OT BU) representing all secondary teachers in the employ of the SGDSB.

Members of OSSTF District 6B include Board Office Personnel, Secretaries, Attendance Counselors, Librarians, Information Technology Technicians, Educational Assistants, Early Childhood Educators, and both Occasional and Permanent Secondary Teachers. 

MEMBERS: Frequently check the ITEMS OF INTEREST and NEWS links on the bottom of this page for frequent information updates.


The District is located on the north shore of Lake Superior along Trans-Canada Highway 17 and along the Greenstone region of Trans-Canada Highway 11.  It includes the following school-based communities of Nakina, Geraldton, Longlac, Beardmore, Dorion, Red Rock, Nipigon, Schreiber, Terrace Bay, Marathon, and Manitouwadge, as well as the Indigenous communities of the Red Rock Indian Band, Pays Plat First Nation, Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Pic River First Nation), Pic Mobert First Nation, Animbiigoo Zaagi'igan Anishinaabek (Lake Nipigon First Nation), Aroland First Nation, Long Lake #58 First Nation, and Ginoogaming First Nation.

This map, created by the Superior-Greenstone District School Board Indigenous Liaison Office, provides an overview of the huge geographical area that makes up OSSTF District 6B. 

Image result for SGDSB First Nations map